A DUI charge can change the rest of your life, especially when it is a felony charge. Felony DUI in Florida carry steep penalties that often include jail time, fines or both. If a person is convicted of a felony DUI, he or she will have a criminal record that could haunt them for several years, even after the time has been served. This could affect a person’s ability to find housing, all while having devastating consequences on a career.
Tallahassee Felony DUI Attorney
If you have been charged with any felony DUI offense under Florida law, contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Tallahassee to discuss the case and possible defenses. Pumphrey Law can help you get back on your feet after devastating charges, and the attorneys can help you get the best possible result in your case. Retaining an attorney quickly after the arrest is important so all avenues of attack are preserved, including your ability to drive while your attorney fights the administrative suspension of your driver’s license.
Call (850) 681-7777 to schedule a free case evaluation. Pumphrey Law represents clients throughout the Second Judicial Circuit in North Florida’s Big Bend region including in Monticello in Jefferson County, Crawfordville in Wakulla County, Quincy in Gadsden County and Bristol in Liberty County.
A felony DUI can be charged in different circumstances in Florida. Florida Statute Section 316.193 outlines how felony DUI charges can be filed, including:
Any person convicted of a third driving under the influence offense within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent such offense commits a third-degree felony, punishable by not more than a $5,000 fine, five years in Florida State Prison or both.
DUI with serious bodily injury
Any person convicted of causing serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a third-degree felony, punishable by not more than $5,000 fine, five years in Florida State Prison or both. This also could apply if the defendant is a Florida habitual traffic offender or a violent felony offender, as provided in Florida State Statute Section 775.084.
When a death occurs as a result of a DUI, the prosecutor can charge the crimes as DUI manslaughter or vehicular homicide under Florida Statute Section 316.193, which provides for the following penalties and punishments if convicted:
Florida DUI Manslaughter
Second-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 15 years in Florida State Prison and a fine of not more than $10,000
DUI Manslaughter Involving Leaving the Scene
A driver who knew or should have known the accident occurred and failed to give information or render aid can be charged with a first-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 30 years in Florida State Prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in Florida State Prison and a fine of not more than $10,000
Vehicular Homicide Involving Leaving the Scene
A driver who left the scene of an accident can be charged with a first-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 30 years in Florida State Prison and a fine of not more than $10,000
If you have been charged with a felony DUI in Florida, you may think there is no way out. However, there are options to fight the charges. A Tallahassee DUI defense lawyer can build a strong defense and make a case to protect your future. A skilled attorney can investigate your case and use the specific circumstances to determine the best possible defense. Some defense strategies include:
Finding A Felony Driving Under the Influence Lawyer in Tallahassee
If you have been arrested for this serious offense, seek our experienced legal representation. The DUI attorneys in Leon County at Pumphrey Law have the training and experience necessary to fight these difficult cases. Call (850) 681-7777 to schedule a free consultation.
Attorney Don Pumphrey, Jr. is a former prosecutor, former law enforcement officer, and a successful and experienced criminal defense attorney. Don has achieved over 100 not guilty verdicts at trial and over 2,000 dismissals.