Over 100 Not Guilty Verdicts At Trial | Over 2,000 Dismissals
* Statistics Verified by County Clerk of Court Documents
Citizens of the United States pride themselves and this country on the constitutional right to bear arms. However, Florida has imposed certain laws and regulations regarding weapons and guns to ensure citizens of the Sunshine State own and use weapons without harming others in the community.
Laws prohibiting certain use of weapons can be misdemeanors or felonies, and they may carry harsh penalties. Often, convictions for weapons charges in Florida carry jail or prison time along with steep fines. With this being the case, having a qualified Tallahassee criminal attorney can help you avoid the potential penalties and allow you to effectively argue your case so you can move on with your life.
There may be ways to have your firearm charge in Florida dropped or have the penalties reduced. Therefore, it is imperative to hire an experienced weapons defense attorney who is familiar with Florida’s laws and regulations. The attorneys at Pumphrey Law can examine your case and help you make the best decision.
Pumphrey Law is a full-service criminal defense firm that is dedicated to providing excellent client representation while developing the strongest case for your particular situation. The attorneys are committed to their clients, and they focus on making certain their individual rights are preserved during this difficult process. The attorneys at Pumphrey Law can be an invaluable part of your defense strategy.
If you have been charged with a Florida weapons offense, contact a Tallahassee gun crime attorney at Pumphrey Law today at (850) 681-7777 for a consultation about your alleged weapons charge in Florida. Pumphrey Law represents clients throughout Tallahassee and the surrounding areas, including Gadsden County, Wakulla County, Liberty County and Jefferson County.
In Florida, it is not illegal to possess a firearm. However, there are restrictions. According to Florida Statute § 790.01, it is illegal for a person who does not have a Concealed Weapons Permit to have any concealed weapon on his or her body. If someone is caught doing so, that person could face charges of carrying a concealed weapon.
Carrying a concealed weapon is defined as carrying a concealed weapon anywhere other than your home or a business in Florida that requires a Concealed Weapons Permit. However, if someone carries a weapon or firearm in public and they do not have a CWP, they can be charged with this offense.
According to Florida Statutes § 790.06, certain citizens are permitted to carry concealed weapons with an appropriate permit. A person is eligible for a Concealed Weapons Permit in Florida if they meet the flowing requirements:
A conviction for carrying a concealed weapon that is not a firearm is a misdemeanor of the first degree, which can include imprisonment up to one year, fines up to $1,000 or both.
Carrying a concealed weapon that is a firearm is a third-degree felony, which can incur state prison time up to five years, fines up to $5,000 or both.
In Florida, it is against the law for an individual to possess electric weapons, firearms, ammunition or any other weapon if that individual was previously:
Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon is considered a second-degree felony. If convicted of this offense, a person could face up to 15 years in prison, a $10,000 fine or both. Under Florida Statute § 874.04, if the person’s crimes are gang-related, his or her sentence could be upgraded to a minimum of 10 years and a maximum of life in prison.
There are several other weapons-related crimes in Florida, all of which could lead to serious penalties. Some of the charges include:
Florida Statutes § 775.087 mandates specific minimum prison times for those who commit crimes with weapons. The statute requires the minimum prison term for weapons charges to be served consecutively to any other prison terms imposed for crimes committed not at the same time. Other portions of the 10-20-LIFE weapons statute impose these minimum prison sentences:
If you are charged with certain weapons offenses, there are defenses and exceptions your attorney may use to have the charge dropped or reduced.
2331 Phillips Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32308
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
If you have been charged with a gun or weapons offense in Leon County, contact the attorneys at Pumphrey Law to discuss the facts of your particular case. Finding an experienced attorney who is familiar with Florida gun and weapon laws is your best option to avoid severe consequences. Contact us at (850) 681-7777 for a free legal consultation about your alleged gun, firearm or weapon charge.
Article last updated on October 26, 2016.
Attorney Don Pumphrey, Jr. is a former prosecutor, former law enforcement officer, and a successful and experienced criminal defense attorney. Don has achieved over 100 not guilty verdicts at trial and over 2,000 dismissals.
553 E. Tennessee St. Tallahassee, FL 32308Get Directions