Over 100 Not Guilty Verdicts At Trial | Over 2,000 Dismissals

* Statistics Verified by County Clerk of Court Documents

Read More
Client Testimonials

Tallahassee Murder and Homicide Defense Attorney

Homicide Lawyer in Tallahassee

Pumphrey Law represents people charged with homicide and murder offenses in Tallahassee, Florida and the surrounding counties. Through the use of forensic experts, private investigators, as well as modern technology, the criminal defense attorneys at Pumphrey Law leave no option unexplored and fight for the rights of the accused. 

Different Types of Murder and Homicide Charges

First Degree Murder

A First Degree Murder charge means that the crime is believed to have been either a felony murder or premeditated. Premeditated murder is when the crime is planned ahead of time. A felony murder is when the alleged homicide occurs during the commission or attempted commission of another felony.

Second Degree Murder

A Second Degree Murder charge is when a homicide occurs with the defendant having a depraved mind, which means there was no premeditated design but the act itself was imminently dangerous and shows no regard for human life. Another version of this charge is if the individual charged was an accomplice to someone who kills an individual during the commission of a felony.

Third Degree Murder

Third Degree Murder is when one person unintentionally kills another person while in the commission of, or attempt of, a nonviolent felony crime. 

Manslaughter

  • Manslaughter by Act – When someone commits an unjustifiable or excusable act that results in the death of another. Also known as voluntary manslaughter.
  • Manslaughter by Procurement – This is when one individual persuades or encourages another to act in a way that results in the death of another person.
  • Manslaughter by Culpable Negligence – When the defendant is accused of culpably negligent behavior leading to the death of another person. Also known as Involuntary Manslaughter. 

Vehicular Homicide

Vehicular Homicide is when an individual causes the death of another person while recklessly operating a motor vehicle in a way that is likely to lead to death or great injury. When the death of the individual was caused by actions that were not reckless or intentional, this can be vehicular manslaughter

Punishments for Murder Charges in Florida

First Degree Murder Sentences

Anyone accused of First Degree Murder is suspected to have premeditated the act or committed felony murder. The penalty for First Degree Murder in Florida is death or life in prison.

Second Degree Murder Sentences

The penalty for Second Degree Murder in Florida is life in prison, life on probation, and up to a $10,000 fine.

Third Degree Murder Sentences

The penalty for Third Degree Murder in Florida is up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and up to a $10,000 fine.

Florida Manslaughter Sentences

The penalty for Manslaughter in Florida depends on whether a weapon was used and if the act was voluntary. The charge of Manslaughter could carry up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and up to a $10,000 fine. However, if a weapon was involved, this could result in up to 30 years in prison, up to 30 years on probation, and a fine as high as $10,000.

Vehicular Homicide Sentence

The penalty for vehicular homicide in Florida is up to 15 years in prison, 15 years on probation, and up to a $10,000 fine. However, if the defendant fled the scene or failed to provide aid or their information, the 2nd-degree felon becomes a 1st-degree felony and carries a sentence of up to 30 years in prison, 30 years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.

Florida Statute 782.04 on Murder

Contact an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney in Tallahassee

If you or a loved one has been charged with murder or a form of homicide, it is critical to contact an experienced homicide attorney as soon as possible. Call Pumphrey Law today to schedule your free consultation