Theft crimes in Leon County occur when an individual purposefully and knowingly takes someone else’s property for their own use or the use of someone who is not the owner. It does not matter usually whether this is a temporary or permanent taking.
These offenses may seem like a small thing, but can carry serious fines and/or jail time. A conviction for theft here in Leon County could hurt future job and education prospect.
The severity of the charges demands a qualified Tallahassee theft lawyer such as those at Pumphrey Law. Our attorneys can defend your name and create defense which can help reduce or dismiss any charges.
In Florida – and here in Leon County – theft offenses are divided into petit theft and grand theft based on the circumstances specific to that case. The relevant circumstances are usually the value and type of property stolen.
Petit theft is charged when lower value property is taken. It is defined in Leon County by Florida Statute § 812.014 as theft on items of financial value up to $300.
This offense can be a misdemeanor of the first or second degree. Petit theft is usually a second-degree misdemeanor when the alleged taking is of property that is $100 or less. This can incur up to 60 days in jail, fines up to $500 or both. When that value is between $100 and $300, it could be a first-degree misdemeanor instead. This can lead to up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, or both.
The most common type of petit theft in Leon County is shoplifting. According to Florida Statutes § 812.015, this applies to leaving the store with merchandise or property, changing a price tag or label or moving merchandise to a different container with the intent to take the item.
If a theft is more severe it can be Grand theft. According to Florida Statute § 812.014, it is charged when knowingly taking someone else’s property worth at least $300, with the intent to deprive that person of the property. This charge also could apply if a certain type of property was involved or when aggravating circumstances such as the use of a motor vehicle are present.
This offense can be a felony of the first, second or third-degree, depending on the circumstances of the crime. Simple grand theft is usually third-degree felony, arising from property theft worth between $300 and $20,000. The punishment for that can mean prison up to five years, fines up to $5,000, or both. If the property is worth more than $20,000 and less than $100,000, it can turn into a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in state prison, fines not exceeding $10,000, or both. If the alleged theft was for property worth more than $100,000, that will traditionally be a first-degree felony in Leon County. One prime example of this is carjacking, and could mean imprisonment up to 30 years with the possibly of life imprisonment, depending on the crime, and fines up to $10,000.
This offense does not require actually taking property dealing in stolen property can also qualify as grand theft, according to Florida Statute § 812.019. This would be knowingly participating in trafficking property with the knowledge it was stolen, or organizing others dealing in property that has been stolen.
Back to top
Theft and Property Crime Resources in Florida
See Past Leon County Theft Case Results
Take a look at some outcomes and case results in Leon County theft cases we have handled recently.
Back to top
Finding A Tallahassee Property Crime Defense Attorneys
If you have been charged with a theft crime in Leon County, contact the skilled Tallahassee criminal defense attorneys at the Pumphrey Law to discuss the facts of your case. One of our experienced Leon County criminal defense attorneys may be able to use a defense or exception to Florida laws to have your charge dismissed or reduced. Call the (850) 681-7777 to schedule a consultation about your alleged theft or property crime.
This article was last updated on December 11, 2017