SR-22s and FR-44s in Florida: What You Need to Know to Get Your License Reinstated

June 24, 2024 Criminal Defense, Drunk Driving/DUI

driving while high florida

SR-22 or FR-44 insurance certifications are meant for high-risk drivers, and generally are filed to restore someone’s driving privileges in the event of a driving-related offense such as Driving Under the Influence (DUI). SR-22s and FR-44s prove to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) that higher-risk drivers carry required liability coverage. SR-22s and FR-44s are insurance requirements for certain high-risk drivers under Florida Statutes 324.023.

This page will explore SR-22s and FR-44s, when they are filed, and their costs.

SR-22 vs. FR-44

The difference between SR-22 and FR-44 lies in the coverage requirements of each of these. SR-22s and FR-44s technically aren’t insurance policies – they’re certifications that you hold the minimum liability insurance required in the state of Florida. Once you file an SR-22, it must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. This is due to financial responsibility for bodily injury or death when a driver has been found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to a driving under the influence charge. 

Drivers after October 1, 2007 shall, by one of the methods established in Florida Statutes Section 324.031, establish and maintain the ability to respond in the damages for liability on account of accidents arising out of the use of a motor vehicle in the amounts prescribed by statute.

Usually, SR-22s are filed by drivers who have committed a serious traffic offense(s), such as an uninsured accident or a DUI. The minimum liability coverage required by an SR-22 in Florida is $10,000 for bodily injury or death of 1 person per accident, $20,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people per accident, and $10,000 in property damage.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance is a potential option for those who must obtain an SR-22 but who themselves do not own a car. It has the same liability coverage as standard SR-22s.

FR-44s are typically reserved for those with more serious driving offenses. Florida is one of two states, the other being Virginia, that occasionally requires an FR-44 rather than an S-22 to be filed. 

FR-44s are often called “DUI insurance” and mandate much higher liability limits than SR-22s: $100,000 for bodily injury or death of one person per accident, $300,000 for bodily injury or death to more than one person per accident, and $50,000 for property damage under Florida Statutes Section 324.031.

What’s the Cost?

Filing for one of these certificates typically entails paying a fee of approximately $15 to $25. But the real cost of SR-22 and FR-44 coverage varies significantly by insurance company.

With motor insurance prices rising in Florida, an exact cost can be difficult to pin down. But for an SR-22 certificate, you can expect to pay an average of between $363 and $462 a month, depending on the offense for which you were charged. That totals to nearly $5,000 a year, but can vary greatly with age, or your record prior to the offense.

However, there is an exemption from the statute. If the owner or operator has not been convicted of driving under the influence or a felony traffic offense for a period of 3 years from the date of the reinstatement of driving privileges for a violation of 324.023, the owner or operator is now exempt from this section

For an FR-44 certificate, drivers will likely pay about the same, with an average rate of about $400 a month. Some insurers offer SR-22s and FR-44s at a significantly lower price than others.

If you are facing DUI or a similar charge, do not hesitate to call an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney at Pumphrey Law right away. Don Pumphrey, Jr. has over 25 years of experience in criminal defense and will fight to win for you. (850) 681-7777

Former Prosecutor, Former State Police Officer, Trusted, Experienced, Aggressive Criminal Defense Attorney in Tallahassee, Florida

As a former prosecutor, former state police officer and a life member of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Don Pumphrey Jr. has observed that being arrested anywhere in Florida can be extremely stressful. Being charged and “formally charged” by information in Tallahassee or Leon County, Wakulla County, Jefferson County, Gadsden County, Quincy, Crawfordville, Florida State University, Florida State University Campus, Florida State University Student Code of Conduct, Tallahassee Community College, Florida A&M University, or facing first appearance in Leon County, can be life changing. Given the possibility of a lengthy jail or in some cases lengthy prison sentence and hefty financial penalties, it is important to contact an aggressive, trusted and experienced Tallahassee criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Don Pumphrey, Jr. and the attorneys at Pumphrey Law have decades of experience fighting on behalf of clients and winning. Call Pumphrey Law now at (850) 681-7777 to learn more about what we can do for you. Our lawyers will be happy to provide you with a free consultation.

Back to Top