Convenience Store Clerk Arrested for Shooting at Customer he Accused of Stealing Candy

September 3, 2022 Criminal Defense, Theft/Property Crimes, Violent Crimes

Stealing is a crime, but so is shooting at the person who you believe to be stealing. In a recent case, a store clerk accused a shopper of shoplifting, but instead of calling the police to report the theft, he took matters into his own hands and shot at the victim.

Now the store employee is facing criminal charges for aggravated battery and attempted murder for his attempt to stop the person he believed to be stealing. We will cover the details of the case, along with information on aggravated battery in Florida.

What was the Incident?

Aurio Correa, 31, was arrested in Miami-Dade County after he shot off a gun at a customer at his place of work. Late Wednesday night at the Dolphin Food Market, Correa accused one of the customers of stealing candy from the convenience store.

The victim told police that the two got into an argument over the stealing accusation, which escalated outside of the store. Correa allegedly took out a gun and started to fire at the shopper as he drove away.

When police arrived at the scene they questioned Correa about the incident, in which he admitted to accusing the shopper of stealing. However, he denied ever shooting at the victim. After investigating and obtaining the surveillance video from the store, the police were able to view footage of the entire argument. They also saw Correa fire the gun at the victim’s car.

Correa has now been charged with attempted murder and aggravated battery with a deadly weapon.

Aggravated Battery in Florida

Aggravated battery is a step above a regular battery criminal charge. Florida Statute Section 784.045 defines this type of battery as when physical violence results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or an assault occurring when the victim was pregnant. In many cases, aggravated battery is the charge given when there was a weapon involved.

Aggravated battery is considered a second-degree felony in Florida, with penalties resulting in up to a $10,000 fine and up to 15 years in prison. One important thing to note is that you can get charged with aggravated battery even if you did not put your hands on the victim. For example, if someone ran another person over intentionally with their vehicle, they could be charged with aggravated battery.

Along with paying fines and potentially facing imprisonment, aggravated battery comes with additional consequences. A criminal record that includes aggravated battery can make it difficult to find a job or a place to live, as it carries the stigma of being a violent individual.

To find out more about the different types of battery charges and their potential defenses, read our informative page here.

Finding a Defense Attorney in Tallahassee, Florida

Getting accused of aggravated battery is extremely serious, as Florida has harsh consequences for a guilty conviction. If you or a loved one have been accused of a violent crime, it is imperative to seek out the legal advice of a skilled defense attorney. Your best shot at building a strong defense to your case is to work with an experienced team. Pumphrey Law Firm has represented clients across the state for various charges, and vow to stand by your side throughout the entire process. For a free consultation call (850) 681-7777 or leave an online message

Written by Karissa Key

Back to Top